Forward-Looking Philanthropy: A Virtual Conversation Among Funders and Black Scholars


The American Council of Learned Societies is pleased to present “Forward-Looking Philanthropy: A Virtual Conversation Among Funders and Black Scholars” on Wednesday, March 3, 2021 at 4-5:30 PM EST

  • Kal Alston, Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Syracuse University
  • Brandi C. Brimmer, Associate Professor of History, Spelman College
  • Andrew Delbanco, President of the Teagle Foundation
  • Adam F. Falk, President of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation
  • Dorie Gilbert, Dean of Arts & Sciences and Dean of Graduate Studies, Prairie View A&M University
  • Dwight A. McBride, President of the New School
  • Na'ilah Suad Nasir, President of the Spencer Foundation

The discussion will be moderated by Richard J. Powell, ACLS board member and Professor of Art and Art History at Duke University.

This event is presented as part of the ACLS Humanistic Knowledge in the 21st Century public event series.

Register now

Kal AlstonKal Alston is a professor and associate dean for academic affairs at Syracuse University. She is trained in philosophy of education. She spent her earlier career at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in educational policy studies and as director of the Gender & Women's Studies Program.  


Brandi C. Brimmer is an associate professor of history at Spelman College in Atlanta, Georgia. Her research recovers poor and working-class Black women's social justice vision and battles for citizenship during the nineteenth century.


Andrew Delbanco Andrew Delbanco has been president of the Teagle Foundation since 2018 and has served on its Board of Directors since 2009. Since 1985, he has taught at Columbia University, where he is the Alexander Hamilton Professor for American Studies.


Adam F. FalkAdam Falk is the president of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, a private, not-for profit foundation that funds research, education, and public engagement in science, technology and economics. Prior to joining the Foundation in January 2018, Falk served as president of Williams College from 2010 through 2017. 


Dorie GilbertDorie Gilbert is the dean of the Marvin D. and June Samuel Brailsford College of Arts and Sciences at Prairie View A&M University. Gilbert joined PVAMU in 2019 as Dean of Graduate Studies. Before coming to PVAMU, she was professor and director of the Master of Social Work program at The Ethelyn R. Strong School of Social Work, Norfolk State University (NSU).


Dwight McBrideDwight A. McBride became The New School's ninth president on April 16, 2020. With nearly three decades in higher education, McBride is an experienced leader, and accomplised educator and author. Prior to his appointment at The New School, he was the provost and executive vice president for Academic Affairs at Emory University.


Na'ilah Suad Nasir Na'ilah Suad Nasir is the president of the Spencer Foundation, which funds education research nationally. She has held faculty appointments at Stanford University and at the University of California, Berkeley where she also served as the vice chancellor for Equity and Inclusion.


Richard PowellRichard J. Powell, Moderator, is John Spencer Bassett Professor of Art & Art History at Duke University, where has has taught since 1989. He studied at Morehouse College and Howard University before earning his doctorate in art history at Yale University. Powell also serves on the ACLS Board of Directors.


Register Now